Wireless Router Home Best Wireless N Router 2014 Reviews and Comparison

Best Wireless Router 2014

With advancement in technology we now have wireless technology (Wi-Fi) which has replaced people’s traditional choice of wired Ethernet for networking their computers anywhere. And To connect to Wi-Fi one needs to have a wireless router. A wireless router in simple words is a device which helps you to connect to wireless internet with multiple wireless devices like computers, laptops, tablets, Smartphone’s and so on and at the same time.

My recommend: ASUS RT-AC68U

http://wirelessrouterhome.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ASUS-RT-AC68U.jpg

We’re in the fifth generation of ASUS RT, with a new standard: 802.11ac. A new evolution that promises an improved bandwidths and higher capacities for a completely new wireless experience in our computers and mobile devices. The new Broadcom 802.11ac chipset offers speeds of 1.3 Gbps at 5 GHz, three times as fast as the 802.11n standard.

The main features of this ASUS RT-AC66U IS its great wireless speeds, reaching up to 1.3Gbps in the 5GHz band and up to 600Mbps (With TurboQAM™ technology ) in the 2.4GHz one. It’s dual band; you can browse the internet and download your files while you watch HD video.

It has four LAN and one WAN ports, all of them Ethernet Gigabit.

It also features one USB3.0 and USB 2.0 ports to share hard disks and printers. We can use its integrated download manager to download files from Bittorrent via FTP and HTTP, as well as set up FTP, Samba and DLNA servers.

Thanks to its 256 MB RAM you can get the most out of your network. The firmware features multiple SSID so you can create and manage guest connections. The guest network is separated from the main network to increase security.

ASUS’ firmware has been completely revamped and now has a traffic monitor and real-time graphics to detail the use of the router, as well as an advanced QoS for expert users.

>>Check here see more information and reviews about ASUS RT-AC68U on Amazon<<

 

Rank #1 #2(Best Specs) #3 #4 #5
Models ASUS RT-AC68U NETGEAR R7000 Linksys EA6900 AirportExtreme NETGEAR NC50
Picture ASUS RT-AC68U NETGEAR R7000 Linksys EA6900 Airport Extreme NETGEAR NC50
Technology 802.11ac 802.11ac 802.11ac 802.11ac 802.11n
Wi-Fi Max Speed 1300 + 600Mbps 1300 + 600Mbps 1300+450Mbps up to 1.3 Gbps 750Mbps
Bands 5GHz:1300Mbps
2.4GHz:6000Mbps
5GHz:1300Mbps
2.4GHz:600Mbps
5Ghz:1300Mbps
2.4Ghz:600Mbps
2.4+5GHz 5GHz:300Mbps
2.4GHz:450Mbps
Processor Broadcom 4708A
800MHz
Broadcom BCM4709A
1 GHz
Broadcom 4708A
800MHz
Broadcom BCM53019 Atheros AR9344
560MHz
Ram 256 MB DDR3 256 MB DDR3 256 MB DDR3 512MB 128 MB
Flash 128 MB 128 MB 128 MB 32 MB 128 MB
Port:10/100 1 x USB 3.0
1 x USB 2.0
4 x LAN ports
1 x USB 3.0
1 x USB 2.0
4 x LAN ports
1 x USB 3.0
1 x USB 2.0
4 x LAN ports
1 x USB 2.0
3 x LAN ports
1 x USB 2.0
4 x LAN ports
Switch Broadcom BCM4708A Broadcom BCM4709A Broadcom BCM4708A In CPU Atheros AR8327
Compatibility
Backward Compatible with 802.11 a/b/g/n Devices
OS compatible

Windows XP SP3, Vista , Windows 7, Windows 8, Mac OS X, Linux

Wireless Security
WEP, WPA and WPA2 Personal and Enterprise
User Reviews Go to Amazon Go to Amazon Go to Amazon Go to Amazon Go to Amazon

Cheak Here see all best wireless router on Amazon

Wireless Buying Guide:

G Router or N Router?

 

Already now for a couple of years the technology standard most widely used in the shops and what is commonly defined N: specifically the 802.11n standard, but is also compatible with the previous standard G (802.11g) and the even more old (B), with respect to the preceding, the N routers are certainly faster, even if the rate declared by the producers are in fact only theoretical and it is unlikely to reach even in optimal conditions. In addition to the distance between the Wi-Fi device and the router to any obstacles such as walls, objects, and ceilings, the factor that limits the speed of transmission is mainly linked to the ADSL line, but paradoxically, if you have a normal ADSL line, could be sufficient even a router G. It must be said, however, that the router G are emerging from the market, especially for movies in streaming or transfer large files a router faster can be useful, since the speed of a wireless connection is affected by the quality of the received radio signal, a device N, with its improved mechanisms to increase the flow rate And the coverage, could provide an advantage in some situations in which the reception is poor. However, that many portable devices, for reasons of cost and compatibility, continue to use the Wi-Fi connection of type G and then, with these devices, it is not the case of expect speed increments also goes to a router N.

IEEE  802.11ac is the latest and most advanced standards for implementing wireless local area network computer communication in the 2.4 and 5 GHz frequency bands. It is also compatible with the previous standard N (802.11n)  and the oder G, B. From the following table, you can see the difference between 802.11ac and older 802.11g and 802.11n:

IEEE  802.11ac, 802.11g and 802.11n comparison:

802.11 protocol Release Date Freq(GHz) Bandwidth(MHZ) Data rate per stream(Mbit/s) Allowable MIMO streams Modulation
g Jun 2003 2.4 20 6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 48, 54 OFDM, DSSS
n Oct 2009 2.4/5 20 7.2, 14.4, 21.7, 28.9, 43.3, 57.8, 65, 72.2 4 OFDM
40 15, 30, 45, 60, 90, 120, 135, 150
ac Nov 2011 5 20 up to 87.6 8 OFDM
40 up to 200
80 up to 433.3
160 up to 866.7

Dual-band routers

 

A little more recently have been put on the market N router equipped with a double band (dual-band), these devices, which can be found in stores with prices that range from 120 to 200 dollars (models with the modem cost instead, between 100 and 140 euro), offer the possibility of transmitting (for many models also simultaneously) on two different bands, in addition to traditional frequency (2.4 GHz), can also transmit on 5GHz, a band still little used is especially capable of carrying a greater quantity of data, the result is that by using the band to 5GHz transmission is much faster, with performance (under optimal conditions) close to those cable, but not all devices that have the internal Wi-Fi they have one which is able to communicate with the router on the band from 5GHz; if you don’t have a laptop computer rather than recent or a tablet of last generation you will have to settle for the traditional 2.4GHz, rather crowded and then (especially in certain hours of the day) still The other that fast, and it is for this reason, for almost all of these models and possible match, buying it separately (with prices that vary from 30 to 100 dollars), a USB adapter that also allows the pc not very recently (or desktop computers usually do not have Wi-Fi) to connect to the router through the frequency band more great and free, that is, the one from 5GHz, and navigate more quickly.

With a special test we have verified that a router of a certain brand communicates well with an adapter to a different brand to take advantage of the greater speed of these router models, and take heed only to buy an adapter that supports standard Wi-Fi 802.11 N but it is also dual band.

Cheak Here see all best wireless router on Amazon

If this article is helpful to you, please share it, thanks.  微笑

11 Thoughts on “Best Wireless Router 2014

  1. I actually believe this particular article , “Best Wireless Router Reviews 2013 – Top Wireless N Router
    Comparison”, really interesting and the blog post was a wonderful read.
    Thanks a lot-Graig

  2. Thank you for posting all the details between the routers. I would like to know more about range of the routers and configurations between each one. I’m in a house with all Apple Computers and I was trying to decide between the NETGEAR and the Apple Airport Extreme. Since two out of my three Macs are 6 years old they only support G Speeds and my current 2012 Macbook Pro supports N I went with the Apple Airport Extreme.
    - Speeds so far looking really good but the Signal strength isn’t the best probably due to internal antennas. I’m thinking of buying the Asus and the NETGEAR and see what one I prefer the most.

  3. Susan on April 27, 2013 at 7:17 pm said:

    I have a huge house, with lots of walls. Our current router is miserably inadequate for the space. The router is in the television area of our home in the lower level. We have iPhones, an iTouch, a laptop, the main desktop (which will be on the upper level), a printer, our Blueray and our wireless disk that contains almost 700 movies. All of the devices have been purchased in the past 2 years, so I suspect they will work with any of these routers.
    My networking skills are minimal, so easy setup and maintenance is essential.
    Recommendations????

  4. W Davis on May 2, 2014 at 9:35 pm said:

    The picture of the Netgear R7000 is incorrect. This appears to be a R6200.

    The R7000 is actually the one shown below the Dual Band Router paragraph and is identified as the Netgear Nighthawk AC1900.

  5. I am looking to get some reviews on a new brand to the US called Totolink. This brand is a sister company from Korea call IPTime. They currently hold an 80% market share in Korea shipping over 300,000 units a month in that country.

    The main product I want reviewed is the A2004NS. This is a 1200Mbps dual band Gigabit router (2Tx2R) that includes a USB 2.0 port and has multi SSID functionality. This unit also provides VPN and bandwidth control with QOS.

    The most exciting thing with this product is the cost. Right now it retails at 129.99, but there is going to be a significant reduction to that price. The MAP is $80, but that also is going down. Major distribution company are very interested in this product as well because they can make margins significantly higher than many of their other brands in this space.

    This product is available right now, and we also have a bunch more AC products hitting the market next month with higher bandwidth that I can get in your hands.

    Here is a link to the product details and specs: http://www.totolink.net/sub/event/event.asp?e_id=1005

    Please let me know if you would like to review and I can get you all the other details you need.

  6. Bobby on July 1, 2014 at 7:09 pm said:

    Very happy to see the Netgear Nighthawk R7000 and the Asus RT-AC68U on this list. I have both of these routers, flashed with DD-WRT from FlashRouters, working side by side in my home, and the Internet these two beasts provide is pretty mind-blowing. It surprises me that more people do not replace the lackluster firmware that comes with super-high end routers, I can’t really believe it. If you really want to do something with your setup, flash those routers with DD-WRT ASAP!!

    • Bruno on July 2, 2014 at 9:48 pm said:

      Hi!

      When you install DD-WRT on these routers you can say bye bye to the DLNA server and the Print server which is the main reasons why I would buy any of them. DD-WRT should think about adding these functionnalities to there firmware.

      This is just my opinion.

    • Keng on July 30, 2014 at 5:12 pm said:

      Are these two beasts working in bridged mode?
      Because after reading smallnetbuilder’s article, I am really curious about the bridged ac setup, which is said to truly enable the TurboQAM 600MB connection at 2.4ghz.
      How is your experience with it?

  7. At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming over again to read
    other news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Post Navigation